Published by Moneli Automation, maker of WalledCare. We name competing products below and we are not paid to list them. See our comparison methodology.
This page is general information, not legal, tax or medical advice. Amounts change every year. Check the linked government page before you rely on a number. In an emergency, call 911.
Key facts
- Ontario's Seniors' Home Safety Tax Credit ended after the 2022 tax year, even though many websites still list it. (Factsheet, 2022)
- New Brunswick's renovation credit will not fund monitoring: it excludes "equipment for home medical monitoring" and "security or medical monitoring services". (gnb.ca, 2026)
- 9.0% of new long-term care residents in Canada in 2024-2025, around 1 in 10, could have been cared for at home. (CIHI data table, fiscal years 2018-2019 to 2024-2025)
- A Canadian randomized trial of passive home monitoring found no statistically significant reduction in moves to higher levels of care. (JMIR Aging, 2025)
How does aging-at-home help work in every province?
The names differ, but the structure is the same in all six provinces.
Layer 1: publicly funded home care after an assessment. The province pays for nursing and personal support at home if you qualify. You do not apply the way you apply for a grant. You are referred, then assessed by a care coordinator or health professional, who decides what you get. The referral route differs by province.
Layer 2: community supports with income-based fees. Meals, rides, housekeeping, snow shovelling and friendly visits come from non-profits with provincial funding.
Layer 3: cash. Tax credits, grants and loans sit on top. They are small, income-tested and often limited to people 65 or 70 and older. Names change often, and some have quietly ended.
What is the aging at home program in Ontario?
Ontario has no program with that name. Searchers usually mean home care from Ontario Health atHome, or the Seniors Care at Home Tax Credit.
Ontario Health atHome
Ontario's page says: "If you qualify, the Ontario government pays for home care." A care coordinator at Ontario Health atHome (1-833-515-1234) assesses eligibility. Meals, transportation and adult day programs may charge co-payments. Denials can be appealed to the Health Services Appeal and Review Board. (ontario.ca, 2025)
Seniors Care at Home Tax Credit
This refundable credit is for people who turned 70 or older in the year, or whose spouse did. It pays up to 25% of claimable medical expenses up to $6,000, for a maximum credit of $1,500. It is reduced by 5% of family net income over $35,000 and gone at $65,000. Claim it on Form ON479. Eligible expenses include attendant care, nursing, mobility and bathroom aids and hospital beds. (Ontario Seniors Care at Home Tax Credit, 2025)
Many pages still list a second Ontario credit, the Seniors' Home Safety Tax Credit (25% of up to $10,000 in home-safety renovations). It was available for the 2021 and 2022 tax years only. It is over. (Ministry for Seniors and Accessibility factsheet, 2022)
What does British Columbia offer?
Home support and the daily rate
Subsidized home support needs a clinical assessment by a health authority professional. The daily rate is your remaining annual income multiplied by 0.00138889, and clients with earned income pay no more than $300 a month. People on the Guaranteed Income Supplement, BC income or disability assistance, or the War Veterans Allowance pay nothing. (Home Support, Province of BC, 2025)
Better at Home
Better at Home is funded by the BC government and managed by United Way BC. It provides non-medical help: light housekeeping, rides, friendly visits, groceries, snow shovelling. Fees are income-based and some services are free. It served over 20,000 clients in 2024/25, with the waitlist down 19%. The same report counts 7,029 clients waiting for a publicly funded long-term care bed at March 31, 2025, up 9% in a year. (Monitoring Seniors Services 2025, Office of the Seniors Advocate BC, published March 2026; data for fiscal 2024/25)
CSIL and SAFER
Choice in Supports for Independent Living (CSIL) lets clients with high physical care needs take funds directly and hire their own care, at $38.19 per assessed hour (effective April 1, 2024). (CSIL, BC, 2024) SAFER pays monthly cash to private-market renters aged 60+ with gross income under $40,000 who spend more than 30% of it on rent. (SAFER, BC Housing, 2025)
What does Alberta offer?
Assisted Living Alberta and Self-Managed Care
Home and community care in Alberta is now delivered by Assisted Living Alberta, "Alberta's new provincial assisted living agency". It covers continuing care homes, home and community care, and medical and non-medical supports. To start, call Health Link at 811. (Assisted Living Alberta, 2026)
Self-Managed Care gives assessed clients funds to hire their own personal care and home support under a one-year agreement. You need assessed unmet needs, stable health and ongoing needs, and you report spending every quarter. The brochure says family members, friends and informal caregivers may not be hired as paid care providers. (Self-Managed Care brochure, Alberta Health Services, 2017)
SHARP is a loan, not a grant
The Seniors Home Adaptation and Repair Program (SHARP) is a low-interest home-equity loan, not a grant. You must be 65+, have income of $75,000 or less, and keep at least 25% home equity after the loan. Maximum $40,000, interest 4.45% (reviewed each April and October), no mandatory monthly repayment. Lower-income seniors who do not qualify may be considered for a grant for basic and essential repairs. (SHARP, Alberta.ca, 2026)
Special Needs Assistance
Special Needs Assistance for Seniors pays up to $5,872 in a benefit year, which runs July 1 to June 30, to seniors 65+ with total annual income of $32,690 or less (single) or $53,800 or less (couple). It covers health supports, personal supports, and appliances or furniture.
Housekeeping and yard maintenance are separate: capped at $1,412 in a benefit year, and only for seniors meeting the lower secondary thresholds of $28,290 (single) or $45,600 (couple). (Special Needs Assistance for Seniors, Alberta.ca, 2026)
What does Quebec offer?
CLSC home support and domestic help
Home support starts with an assessment at your local CLSC. Quebec also runs a Financial Assistance Program for Domestic Help Services, which lowers the hourly rate charged by recognized social-economy businesses for housekeeping and meal preparation. (Programs and services for seniors, Québec.ca, 2026)
Independent Living Tax Credit
This refundable credit is, in Québec.ca's words, "paid to people 70 years of age or over". It covers the purchase, lease or installation of eligible equipment in your main residence, and Québec.ca gives "a remote monitoring device, a walk-in bathtub or a hospital bed" as examples. That is the clearest reference to monitoring equipment in any of the six provinces. (Programs and services for seniors, Québec.ca, 2026)
Home-support services tax credit (70+)
Quebec also has a refundable tax credit for home-support services for seniors, for people 70 or older who are resident in Québec on December 31. Eligible expenses fall into two groups: personal assistance services, which the Gouvernement du Québec guide lists as "nursing care, hygiene care, meal preparation, remote monitoring and GPS tracking"; and "housekeeping, clothing maintenance and grounds maintenance", such as snow removal and minor exterior maintenance. It is claimed on Schedule J, advance payments are available, and the amount depends on "the senior's marital status, the type of dwelling lived in, the cost of rent, the level of independence of the senior or the senior's spouse, the family income and the cost of services obtained". Quebec's home-support credit details here come from the Gouvernement du Québec guide "Programs and services for seniors" (2024 edition), whose rate of 37% is stated for the 2023 taxation year; Revenu Québec's own page would not load for us, so the current rate, the maximum eligible expenses and the income thresholds are not stated here — confirm them with Revenu Québec or a tax preparer. (Programs and services for seniors guide, Gouvernement du Québec, 2024 edition)
What does New Brunswick offer?
Extra-Mural Program
The Extra-Mural Program provides home health care to people of all ages, run by Medavie Health Services New Brunswick with over 900 professionals. Services include chronic disease management, post-surgical care, medication management, dementia support and end-of-life care. Referrals: 1-844-982-7367. (Extra-Mural Program, 2026) Non-medical home support runs through the Department of Social Development. We could not verify its financial assessment rules, so ask Social Development about fees.
Seniors' Home Renovation Tax Credit
This credit refunds 10% of up to $10,000 of accessibility or safety improvements (up to $1,000 a year) for residents 65+ or family living with a senior, with no income test. It is explicit about monitoring. Ineligible devices include "equipment for home medical monitoring" and "equipment for home security (anti-burglary)"; ineligible services include "security or medical monitoring services", "home care services" and "housekeeping services". (Seniors' Home Renovation Tax Credit, gnb.ca, 2026)
New Brunswick also has a separate Low-Income Seniors' Benefit, an annual cash payment of $629 for 2026. To qualify you must be 60 or older, a resident of New Brunswick, and receiving one of the Guaranteed Income Supplement (65 or older), the Allowance Program (60-64) or the Allowance for the Survivor Program (60-64). Applications are open until December 31. (Government of New Brunswick, April 2026)
What does Nova Scotia offer?
Continuing Care home care
"Home Care costs are based on your income and the type of services you need. Some services, such as nursing, are free." To start, "call Continuing Care at the toll-free number, 1-800-225-7225". (Home Care, Nova Scotia, 2026)
Seniors Care Grant
The Seniors Care Grant pays $750 to seniors 65+ (by March 31, 2027) with household net income of $45,100 or less who live in their own home or apartment. It covers snow removal, lawn care, grocery delivery, small repairs, phone and internet, transportation, heating and health services paid between April 1, 2026 and March 31, 2027. Apply by December 1, 2026. Devices, including "personal alerts", are excluded. (Seniors Care Grant, 2026)
Caregiver Benefit
The Caregiver Benefit pays $400 a month to a caregiver who gives 20 or more hours of assistance a week to an adult with "a high level or impairment of disability requiring significant care over time", as assessed by a Nova Scotia Health Authority care coordinator. Both people must be 19 or older, so it is not seniors-only. The income test applies to the person receiving care, not the caregiver: that person needs household income within category A of the home care income table. (Caregiver Benefit, Government of Nova Scotia, 2026)
Which federal programs apply everywhere?
The Home Accessibility Tax Credit (non-refundable) allows up to $20,000 of eligible renovation expenses a year for people 65+ or eligible for the disability tax credit. It is calculated at the lowest federal personal income tax rate, which "decreased from 15% to 14% on July 1, 2025, making the tax rate 14.5% for 2025" (CRA, 2025 rates) and is 14% for 2026 (CRA, 2026 rates). So the maximum is about $2,900 for 2025 and about $2,800 for 2026. Older pages showing 15% and $3,000 are out of date.
It excludes "the cost of housekeeping, security monitoring, gardening, outdoor maintenance, or similar services", "household appliances", "electronic home-entertainment devices", and "the cost of annual, recurring, or routine repairs or maintenance". (Line 31285, CRA, 2025)
Age Well at Home funded over 80 In-Home Supports Pilot projects (over $40 million) delivering volunteer-based housekeeping, meals, rides and visits to low-income seniors. Projects had to end by March 31, 2026, so families cannot apply to it today, whatever older blog posts say. (Backgrounder: Age Well at Home, ESDC, 2025)
Does any of this pay for a monitoring device or service?
Mostly, no.
| Province | Program | Monitoring device | Monitoring service |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | Seniors Care at Home Tax Credit | Not listed as eligible | Not listed as eligible |
| BC | Home support, Better at Home, SAFER | No | No |
| Alberta | SHARP, Special Needs Assistance | Not listed as eligible | Not listed as eligible |
| Quebec | Independent Living Tax Credit | Remote monitoring device given as an example; may qualify | n/a |
| Quebec | Home-support services credit | n/a (a services credit) | Guide lists "remote monitoring and GPS tracking" among eligible personal assistance services |
| New Brunswick | Seniors' Home Renovation Tax Credit | Excludes "equipment for home medical monitoring" and "equipment for home security (anti-burglary)" | Excludes "security or medical monitoring services" |
| Nova Scotia | Seniors Care Grant | Excludes "personal alerts" and devices | Not listed as eligible |
| Federal | Home Accessibility Tax Credit | Excludes "electronic home-entertainment devices"; a monitoring device is not addressed either way | Excludes "security monitoring" |
The CRA or Revenu Québec decides eligibility on the specific expense, so "may qualify" is the strongest honest phrase.
The same is true of medical alert pendants. Lifeline Canada says it "offers the most widely adopted fall detection in Canada" (Lifeline Canada). Galaxy Medical Alert Systems describes itself as "Canada's Most Trusted Provider" and advertises "24/7 Emergency Response" (Galaxy Medical Alert). Those are the vendors' claims, not ours. The monthly fee is normally a private cost. Published monthly prices, where a vendor publishes any, are in the medical alert pendants and watches category and in senior monitoring devices in Canada, compared.
What does the evidence say about staying home longer?
Two CIHI indicators frame the problem. In 2024-2025, 9.0% of new long-term care residents could have been cared for at home, 4,231 of 47,156 (CIHI data table, fiscal years 2018-2019 to 2024-2025). That is a proxy; it does not mean home care was available to them, and the coverage is incomplete, because Quebec has elected not to participate in this section of the indicator. And "more than 2 in 5 unpaid caregivers of home care clients are distressed" (CIHI, Caregiver distress, fiscal years 2018 to 2024, updated March 2026).
The evidence that monitoring technology keeps people at home is weak. A Canadian randomized trial of passive remote monitoring in home care followed 313 patient-caregiver pairs in Ontario and Nova Scotia, adding "motion sensors, cameras, and door alarms" to standard home care. After one year there was no significant reduction in admission to higher levels of care: hazard ratio 0.7 (95% CI 0.3-1.4) in Ontario and 1.1 (95% CI 0.3-3.7) in Nova Scotia, which "did not yield statistically significant results (P=.30 and P=.90)". (JMIR Aging, 2025) Anyone who says a device will keep your parent out of long-term care is going beyond the research.
Demand is not in doubt: Statistics Canada counted 7.0 million people 65+ in the 2021 Census and 861,000 aged 85+, a group that could triple by 2046. (The Daily, April 27, 2022, 2022)
Who to call
Ontario: Ontario Health atHome, 1-833-515-1234. BC: your health authority's home and community care line, then Better at Home. Alberta: Health Link 811. Quebec: your local CLSC. New Brunswick: Extra-Mural, 1-844-982-7367. Nova Scotia: Continuing Care, 1-800-225-7225. Everywhere: file a tax return every year, even with no income. Most credits depend on it.
Frequently asked questions
Can I get paid to care for my elderly parents in Canada?
Sometimes, but not usually as a hired worker. Alberta's Self-Managed Care brochure says family members, friends and informal caregivers are not allowed to be hired as paid care providers (AHS, 2017). BC's CSIL has its own rules on who may be employed; confirm with your health authority. Nova Scotia's Caregiver Benefit pays the caregiver $400 a month.
What is the tax credit for home support services for seniors in Quebec?
A refundable credit for people 70 and older who are resident in Québec on December 31, covering personal assistance services — the Gouvernement du Québec guide names "remote monitoring and GPS tracking" among them — as well as housekeeping and grounds maintenance. It is claimed on Schedule J. The guide's rate of 37% is stated for the 2023 taxation year; Revenu Québec's own page would not load for us, so the current rate, the expense caps and the income thresholds are not stated here — confirm them with Revenu Québec or a tax preparer.
Where WalledCare fits
WalledCare is a camera-free millimetre-wave radar presence sensor. It reports presence, movement, prolonged stillness and prolonged inactivity, room by room, in rooms where nobody wants a camera, with nothing for the person to wear, charge or press.
Some families use it alongside the care hours a province funds: the funded hours cover part of the day, and a room sensor covers whether anyone moved through the kitchen in the hours between. That is the honest description of the gap it fills. It does not detect falls, does not measure breathing, and is not a medical device. It will not change a needs assessment, a wait list or a tax credit, and outside Quebec's Independent Living Tax Credit — where Québec.ca gives a remote monitoring device as an example of eligible equipment — no province above lists it as an eligible expense. It is a private purchase. Our attributes are recorded on the same terms as every other product in this directory, in the WalledCare listing. See how WalledCare works.
A sensor alert is not a medical response. If someone is hurt or unresponsive, call 911.
Sources
- Ontario Seniors Care at Home Tax Credit (ontario.ca, 2025). https://www.ontario.ca/page/ontario-seniors-care-home-tax-credit
- Home and community care (ontario.ca, 2025). https://www.ontario.ca/page/home-community-care
- Seniors' Home Safety Tax Credit factsheet (Ontario Ministry for Seniors and Accessibility, 2022). https://files.ontario.ca/msaa-seniors-home-safety-tax-credit-factsheet-en-2022-10-27.pdf
- Home Support (Province of British Columbia, 2025). https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/health/accessing-health-care/home-community-care/care-options-and-cost/home-support
- Choice in Supports for Independent Living (Province of British Columbia, 2024). https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/health/accessing-health-care/home-community-care/care-options-and-cost/choice-in-supports-for-independent-living
- Monitoring Seniors Services 2025 (Office of the Seniors Advocate, British Columbia; published March 2026, data for fiscal 2024/25). https://www.seniorsadvocatebc.ca/app/uploads/sites/4/2026/03/report-monitoring-seniors-services-2025.pdf
- Better at Home (United Way BC). https://betterathome.ca/
- Shelter Aid For Elderly Renters (BC Housing, 2025). https://www.bchousing.org/housing-assistance/rental-assistance-programs/SAFER
- Assisted Living Alberta (2026). https://assistedlivingalberta.ca/
- Seniors Home Adaptation and Repair Program (Alberta.ca, 2026). https://www.alberta.ca/seniors-home-adaptation-repair-program
- Special Needs Assistance for Seniors (Alberta.ca, 2026). https://www.alberta.ca/seniors-special-needs-assistance
- Self-Managed Care brochure (Alberta Health Services, 2017). https://www.albertahealthservices.ca/assets/info/seniors/if-sen-self-managed-care-brochure.pdf
- Programs and services for seniors (Québec.ca, 2026). https://www.quebec.ca/en/family-and-support-for-individuals/seniors/programs-services-for-seniors
- Extra-Mural Program (Medavie Health Services New Brunswick, 2026). https://extramuralnb.ca/en/
- Seniors' Home Renovation Tax Credit (gnb.ca, 2026). https://www.gnb.ca/en/topic/family-home-community/seniors/senior-tax-credit.html
- Seniors Care Grant (Government of Nova Scotia, 2026). https://www.novascotia.ca/apply-help-household-costs-seniors-care-grant
- Home Care (Government of Nova Scotia, 2026). https://novascotia.ca/dhw/ccs/home-care.asp
- Caregiver Benefit (Government of Nova Scotia, 2026). https://novascotia.ca/dhw/ccs/caregiver-benefit.asp
- Line 31285, Home accessibility expenses (Canada Revenue Agency, 2025). https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/tax/individuals/topics/about-your-tax-return/tax-return/completing-a-tax-return/deductions-credits-expenses/line-31285-home-accessibility-expenses.html
- Federal tax rates, 2025 and 2026 (Canada Revenue Agency). https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/tax/individuals/tax-rates-brackets/last-year.html and https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/tax/individuals/tax-rates-brackets/current-year.html
- Backgrounder: Age Well at Home initiative (Employment and Social Development Canada, 2025). https://www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-development/news/2025/02/backgrounder.html
- New long-term care residents who potentially could have been cared for at home (CIHI, fiscal years 2018-2019 to 2024-2025, updated October 2025). https://www.cihi.ca/en/indicators/new-long-term-care-residents-who-potentially-could-have-been-cared-for-at-home and data table https://www.cihi.ca/sites/default/files/document/data-file/852-new-long-term-care-residents-who-potentially-could-have-been-cared-for-at-home-data-table-en.xlsx
- Caregiver distress (CIHI, fiscal years 2018 to 2024, updated March 2026). https://www.cihi.ca/en/indicators/caregiver-distress
- Passive Remote Monitoring Technologies' Influence on Home Care Clients' Ability to Stay Home: Multiprovincial Randomized Controlled Trial (JMIR Aging, 2025). https://doi.org/10.2196/69107
- The Daily, April 27, 2022 (Statistics Canada, 2022). https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/daily-quotidien/220427/dq220427a-eng.htm
- Lifeline Canada. https://www.lifeline.ca/
- Galaxy Medical Alert Systems. https://www.galaxymedicalalert.com/
- Programs and services for seniors guide, 2024 edition (Gouvernement du Québec). https://cdn-contenu.quebec.ca/cdn-contenu/services_quebec/Guide_Senior_EN_2024_VF.pdf
- Applications for 2026 Low-Income Seniors' Benefit now available (Government of New Brunswick, April 2026). https://www.gnb.ca/en/news/n-b.2026.04.applications-for-2026-low-income-seniors-benefit-now-available.html
