Comparison pages about medical alerts and senior monitoring are mostly written by affiliates who are paid when you sign up, which is why the same four brands appear in the same order on a hundred sites.
We are not neutral either — we make one of the products — so instead of claiming independence we do two things: publish the method that decides what goes in a table, and state the limits of our own product in the same table as everyone else's. The rule we hold ourselves to is that a comparison is only useful if it can conclude that you should buy nothing, or buy from someone else.
Key facts
- Prices are quoted from the vendor's own page, in the currency that page uses, with the date we checked it. Where a vendor publishes no currency, the table says "Not stated" instead of assuming dollars.
- Anything we could not confirm reads "Not publicly stated." It is never guessed and never filled in from a competitor's description of a rival.
- Fall detection decides most of these comparisons. Several products claim it. We quote each claim in the vendor's exact words and record whether the vendor publishes real-world accuracy data.
- The evidence underneath all of this is thin, and we say so on the page rather than in a footnote. The largest Canadian randomised trial of passive home monitoring — 313 client-caregiver pairs in Ontario and Nova Scotia — found no statistically significant reduction in admission to a higher level of care at one year (Ontario HR 0.7, P=.30; Nova Scotia HR 1.1, P=.90) (Donelle et al., JMIR Aging, 2025).
Every product side by side
The closest thing to a head-to-head right now is the directory's full compare table: every listing side by side, in two tables — vendors who state Canadian availability, and vendors whose Canadian availability we could not confirm. Each row carries its source URL and the date we read it, and a calculator on that page adds up what each monitored plan comes to over one to ten years from the vendors' own published fees.

Which comparison answers your question
| Your question | Where to read it |
|---|---|
| "Do I need a camera?" | Elderly monitoring: camera or no camera? — what each can and cannot do, and the consent problem a camera creates in someone else's home. By type: indoor cameras with AI against radar presence sensors |
| "What can we use instead of Life Alert in Canada?" | Life Alert alternatives in Canada — Life Alert is a US service; this is the Canadian landscape, including no-monthly-fee options. Medical alert pendants and watches sets out what a pendant does that nothing else does |
| "Is there fall detection that does not need a pendant or a watch?" | Fall detection without a wearable — the honest answer involves reading vendor claims closely, which is what this page does. Every claim, quoted, is in radar fall-detection sensors |
| "Which sensor for which room?" | PIR vs mmWave radar vs Wi-Fi sensing vs acoustic — the technical comparison, room by room, with Wi-Fi sensing, acoustic monitoring and radar presence sensors taken one type at a time |
| "What is actually available here?" | Senior monitoring devices in Canada, compared — pendants, room sensors, cameras, check-in apps and GPS, with prices in CAD |
| "Where does the data go?" | Canadian vs US-hosted monitoring — what Canadian law does and does not require, and five questions to ask a vendor |
| "Who answers when something happens?" | Remote-monitoring services and home-care bundles — the monthly-fee model, and what the Canadian randomised trial found |
| "What will it cost over five years?" | The compare table, which works it out from the vendors' own published fees |
For a product-by-product view, the directory carries the sourced attributes for each product, and the glossary defines the terms the tables use.
In this section 6
Elderly monitoring: camera or no camera? What each can and can't do
Elderly monitoring camera or camera-free system? What cameras, pendants, motion sensors and radar can and can't do, Canadian consent rules, and how to choose.
Read →Fall detection without a wearable (or a subscription): what actually exists in 2026
Radar sensors, AI lamps, voice buttons and smartwatches: what fall detection without a wearable or subscription really looks like in Canada in 2026, with sources.
Read →Life Alert alternatives in Canada: pendants, watches, sensors, and what each misses
Life Alert is a US service. Compare Canadian medical alert pendants, smartwatches, no-monthly-fee options and room sensors, with prices, limits and sources.
Read →PIR vs mmWave vs Wi-Fi vs acoustic: which sensor for which room
Room by room: what PIR, mmWave radar, Wi-Fi sensing and acoustic monitoring each sense, where each fails, and what the published evidence actually shows.
Read →Senior monitoring devices in Canada, compared (2026)
Pendants, room sensors, cameras, check-in apps and GPS trackers in Canada: what each notices, what each misses, and every published price with its date.
Read →Where is your parent's data stored? Canadian vs US-hosted senior monitoring
Canadian law usually lets senior monitoring data leave the country. What PIPEDA, provincial rules and the US CLOUD Act mean, plus five questions to ask a vendor.
Read →
What we do not do
We do not test the products, and we do not verify, endorse or dispute a vendor's fall-detection claim — we make the wording visible so you can ask the vendor about it. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy, and none of these pages can tell you what a device will do in one particular home.
Where WalledCare fits
WalledCare makes no fall-detection claim. It plugs into an outlet, one unit per room, and reports presence, movement, prolonged stillness and prolonged inactivity for that room, with no lens, no microphone and nothing to wear, charge or press. It does not detect falls, does not measure breathing, and is not a medical device. If detection of the fall itself is the requirement, these pages will point you away from us.
