WalledCare WalledCareLearn
Directory

Medical alert pendants and watches: only if it's being worn

The one category in which a person can deliberately ask for help. Its weakness is the same in every brand: it only works when it is being worn.

Published by Moneli Automation, maker of WalledCare. Listings are not paid. How we evaluate and check listings.

A pendant, wristband or smartwatch calls for help when a button is pressed, and many add automatic fall detection. Pressed, they work well, and no passive sensor replaces that: this is the only category here in which a person can deliberately ask for help. The whole question is the hours the device spends off the body — in the shower, on the charger overnight, or in a drawer.

Key facts

  • In a 2026 survey of 2,695 US adults, including 909 aged 65 and over: "Only 18 percent of users wear their device at all times. Sixty-four percent remove it while showering." (The Senior List, 2026; US, vendor-affiliated, not peer reviewed).
  • In a British cohort of people over 90, 97% of long lies on the floor happened with a call alarm available but not used (Fleming & Brayne, BMJ, 2008).
  • When 13 published fall-detection algorithms were tested against 29 real falls, mean sensitivity was 57% (Bagalà et al., PLoS ONE, 2012).

Listings 5

4 of the 5 listings below state that they are available in Canada; for the rest, Canadian availability is not publicly stated and each listing says so. Every attribute carries a source URL and the date it was checked. Anything we could not confirm is shown as “Not publicly stated”, never guessed.

Home, mobile, or a watch they already wear

FormWorks whereNotes
Home unitInside the houseLandline or cellular connection
Mobile unitAway from home tooAdds a cellular radio and GPS
Consumer smartwatchWherever the watch goesFall detection with no monthly fee

Press the button and a call goes to a monitoring centre, to family phones, or to 911, depending on the plan. Which of the three is right turns less on features than on where the person actually spends their day, and on what they will accept wearing.

Automatic fall detection is a partial backstop, not a guarantee

Apple says so on its own Canadian support page: "Apple Watch cannot detect all falls. Your watch might detect high-impact activity as a fall and trigger Fall Detection." (Use Fall Detection with Apple Watch, Apple Support Canada, checked 2026-09-07). We looked for equivalent published wording from Google and Samsung and did not find it on the pages we fetched, so we attribute none to them.

The independent evidence points the same way: mean sensitivity of 57% across 13 published algorithms tested on 29 real falls (Bagalà et al., PLoS ONE, 2012). Treat automatic detection as the thing that might help when the button is not pressed, not as the reason to buy.

When a pendant is the right answer

Anyone who will reliably wear one, especially away from home, where a room sensor covers nothing. It fits well for someone with a heart or breathing condition who may need help while fully conscious.

It fits poorly for someone who has already refused to wear one, and it is weakest in exactly the hours the survey above describes: overnight on the charger, and in the shower, which 64% of users say they take it off for (The Senior List, 2026).

What a monitored plan comes to over five years

The monthly fee is almost the whole cost. A device fee is paid once and never again, so two plans that look a few dollars apart on a price page are not a few dollars apart by year five, and the cheapest hardware is often the dearest plan.

The seven monitored plans in our directory publish these prices. Galaxy Medical Alert's home cellular system with fall detection is "From: $ 44.95 / month", with no one-time fee published (galaxymedicalalert.com, checked 2026-09-06). Holo Alert lists Holo Pro, Holo Mini and Holo Active at $49.95, $54.95 and $59.95 a month, plus one-time device fees of $89.97, $119.97 and $149.97 (holoalert.ca/pricing, checked 2026-09-06). Aloe Care Health lists Essentials at $199.99 plus $39.99 a month, Mobile Companion 2 at $149.99 plus $44.99, and Essentials Plus at $349.99 plus $59.99 (aloecare.com, checked 2026-09-06).

Galaxy states its currency — its footer reads "All prices are in Canadian funds". The other two publish no currency anywhere on the pages we read, and a .ca domain is not a currency statement, so those figures are recorded exactly as shown rather than resolved into dollars. Each price sits on its vendor listing here: Galaxy Medical Alert, Holo Alert and Aloe Care Health.

What a monitored alert costs over time

Monitored alerts are sold as a small monthly fee, sometimes with a one-time device fee. Over a few years the monthly side is almost all of the cost, and the plans separate. Pick a term to see what each published plan comes to.

1 to 10.

Over 5 years (60 months), Galaxy Medical Alert Systems Home Cellular System with Fall Detection comes to CAD 2,697.00 in monthly fees. No one-time fee is published for it, so that is the monthly side only.

JavaScript is off, so the term below is fixed at 5 years. Every published price this tool uses is listed underneath it, and the arithmetic is a one-time fee plus a monthly fee times 60 months.

Published plans over 5 years. Prices as published on each vendor’s own page on the date shown; two of the three publish no currency.
PlanOne-timePer monthTotalCurrencyChecked
Galaxy Medical Alert SystemsHome Cellular System with Fall DetectionNot published44.952,697.00*CAD
Holo AlertHolo Pro89.9749.953,086.97Not stated
Holo AlertHolo Mini119.9754.953,416.97Not stated
Holo AlertHolo Active149.9759.953,746.97Not stated
Aloe Care HealthEssentials199.9939.992,599.39Not stated
Aloe Care HealthMobile Companion 2149.9944.992,849.39Not stated
Aloe Care HealthEssentials Plus349.9959.993,949.39Not stated

WalledCare is not in this table because it is not a monitored plan: there is no response centre, and alerts go to family or on-duty staff. Our own prices are published on the WalledCare listing, held to the same sourcing rule as every other row here.

What this uses, and where each figure came from

FigureAs publishedSourceChecked
Galaxy Medical Alert Systems — Home Cellular System with Fall Detection44.95 a month; no one-time fee published Published as a “From” price. Currency is stated by the vendor (“All prices are in Canadian funds”). No one-time fee is published, and annual plans are advertised as two months free — neither is applied here.galaxymedicalalert.com — home cellular system with fall detection
Holo Alert — Holo Pro89.97 once, then 49.95 a month The pricing page states no currency; the figures are recorded exactly as shown. The device fee was advertised as a promotion.holoalert.ca — pricing
Holo Alert — Holo Mini119.97 once, then 54.95 a month The pricing page states no currency; the figures are recorded exactly as shown. The device fee was advertised as a promotion.holoalert.ca — pricing
Holo Alert — Holo Active149.97 once, then 59.95 a month The pricing page states no currency; the figures are recorded exactly as shown. The device fee was advertised as a promotion.holoalert.ca — pricing
Aloe Care Health — Essentials199.99 once, then 39.99 a month The page states no currency. A promotional $1 device offer was running when the page was read; the standing hardware price is used here.aloecare.com
Aloe Care Health — Mobile Companion 2149.99 once, then 44.99 a month The page states no currency. A promotional $1 device offer was running when the page was read; the standing hardware price is used here.aloecare.com
Aloe Care Health — Essentials Plus349.99 once, then 59.99 a month The page states no currency. A promotional $1 device offer was running when the page was read; the standing hardware price is used here.aloecare.com
Months in a year12 The only constant here that does not come from a vendor page, and the only one with no source, because it has none to have. Nothing else is added: no term discount, no tax, no activation fee, no price increase over the term — none of these vendors publishes any of those in a form that could be computed.Definition — not a published figure

Every figure this tool computes with is listed above with the page it came from and the date that page was read. Prices change; the date is the fact, not the price.

This tool does arithmetic on published prices and counts. It does not assess anyone's health, and nothing it shows is medical advice.

Set the term to the number of years you would realistically keep the plan. Arithmetic is the only thing this does: it does not rank the plans, and it says nothing about anybody's health. Holo Alert's device fees were advertised as a promotion, and Aloe Care's page was running a promotional $1 device offer when we read it, so re-check both before you commit.

What to ask before buying

  • Will they actually wear it? If the honest answer is no, the monthly fee buys a drawer ornament.
  • Who answers, and where? A Canadian monitoring centre, 911 directly, or a family member's phone are three different failure modes.
  • Landline, cellular or both, and is there coverage where they walk?
  • Battery life and charging: a watch that must be charged nightly is off the wrist at night.
  • Contract length, activation fee, and the cost of the fall-detection add-on.
  • Tax: the Canada Revenue Agency lists "personal response systems such as Lifeline" among expenses you cannot claim (RC4065 Medical Expenses, CRA). See what tax credits do and don't cover.

What it cannot do

It cannot help if it is not on the body, and that is the failure the whole category shares.

It also reports nothing on its own. A pendant is silent about the day around it: no daily rhythm, no sign that someone has not got up, nothing at all until it is pressed or the fall detection fires.

Where WalledCare fits

WalledCare is not a medical alert. There is no button, nothing to wear and nothing to charge: it plugs into a wall outlet, one unit per room, and reports presence, movement, prolonged stillness and prolonged inactivity for that room. It does not detect falls, does not measure breathing, and is not a medical device.

The difference worth being precise about is effort, not accuracy. A pendant covers the shower and the overnight hours only if it is on the body then, and the survey at the top of this page says that for most people it is not — 18% wear it at all times, 64% remove it to shower. A plug-in unit is in the bathroom whether or not anyone remembered anything, because there is nothing to remember and nothing to put back on.

A WalledCare sensor plugged into a bathroom outlet beside the bath and a grab rail.
The room the pendant is usually taken off for. A plug-in unit is in it either way — but it cannot be pressed, and it cannot call anyone.

It also does less. It cannot call for help, cannot be pressed deliberately, cannot tell you why a room went quiet, and cannot follow anyone out of the front door — for that, see GPS locators. Families often keep a pendant for the deliberate call for help and add a room sensor for the hours it is not worn, and a daily check-in for the mornings. Compare the field in the device directory, or see how WalledCare works.

Sources

  1. 2026 Medical Alert Device Usage Report — The Senior List (2026). https://www.theseniorlist.com/research/medical-alert-device-consumer-usage-study/
  2. Fleming J, Brayne C. Inability to get up after falling, subsequent time on floor, and summoning help. BMJ 2008;337:a2227. https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC2590903/
  3. Bagalà F et al. Evaluation of accelerometer-based fall detection algorithms on real-world falls. PLoS ONE (2012). https://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0037062
  4. RC4065 Medical Expenses — Canada Revenue Agency. https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/forms-publications/publications/rc4065/medical-expenses.html
  5. Use Fall Detection with Apple Watch — Apple Support Canada (checked 7 September 2026). https://support.apple.com/en-ca/108896
  6. Home cellular system with fall detection — Galaxy Medical Alert Systems (checked 6 September 2026). https://www.galaxymedicalalert.com/products/home-cellular-system-with-fall-detection
  7. Pricing — Holo Alert (checked 6 September 2026). https://holoalert.ca/pricing/
  8. Aloe Care Health (checked 6 September 2026). https://www.aloecare.com/
Published Last reviewed By Moneli Automation editorialNext review 6 March 2027