WalledCare WalledCareLearn
Directory

Senior monitoring devices compared: camera, microphone, anything to wear

Every product in the directory in two tables: whether it has a camera, whether it has a microphone, whether anything has to be worn, the vendor's own fall-detection wording, where the data is hosted, whether the vendor states it is sold in Canada, how it is priced, and the date we last checked.

Published by Moneli Automation, maker of WalledCare. Listings are not paid. How we evaluate and check listings.

The tables are split on one fact: whether the vendor states, on a page we fetched, that the product is sold or serviced in Canada. Products whose Canadian availability we could not confirm are in the second table — listed because they exist and readers ask about them, and marked as unconfirmed rather than quietly dropped or quietly counted as Canadian.

On a narrow screen both tables scroll sideways inside their own frame — swipe across the columns rather than zooming out.

Key facts

  • A cell reading No means the vendor states there is no camera, no microphone or nothing to wear, on a page we fetched.
  • A cell in italics reading Not publicly stated means we looked and could not find it stated. It is not a "no", and we will not turn it into one by guessing. If you are choosing on privacy, treat italics as an open question to put to the vendor, not as reassurance.
  • The fall-detection column carries the vendor's own words. We do not restate a claim as fact, we do not rank products by it, and where a vendor publishes no accuracy or false-alarm data, the vendor page says so.
  • No consumer device in this directory is a medical device.
  • The last column is the date we checked that listing against a source we fetched. Prices and features move; a row older than its check date is a row to verify before you buy.
  • Each product name links to its listing, where every attribute carries its own source URL and the product or firmware version it was checked against.

Every listing, side by side

Available in Canada, in the vendor's own words

Each vendor below states on a page we fetched that the product is sold or serviced in Canada. That is the vendor's statement, quoted in the row, not our verification of it.

ProductCategoryCameraMicrophoneWearableFall-detection claim (vendor's words)Hosting countryAvailable in CanadaPricing modelChecked
Go Anywhere range and Silver Shield — Bedford Medical AlertMedical alert pendants and watches, Radar fall detection: what these sensors catch, and what they missNoYes on the worn and in-home products (two-way voice); "No cameras, microphones, or wearables" on Silver ShieldYes for the Go Anywhere and Home Freedom ranges; No for Silver ShieldSilver Shield: "A two-layered radar algorithm analyzes movement patterns to recognize hard falls and keep false alarms low." Worn devices: "The Go Anywhere fall detection watch automatically senses hard falls and alerts caregivers and emergency responders, without the wearer having to press a button." — bedfordmedicalalert.ca/go-anywhere-fall-detection-watch-medical-alert-system-with-gps/, checked 2026-09-06Not publicly stated — monitoring is answered in Canada; Silver Shield described as "encrypted local processing"Yes — Toronto company, "100% Canadian owned & operated", all provincesNot publicly stated — "Pricing depends on the device you choose"; subscription includes equipment, no long-term contract, no cancellation fees2026-09-06
Holo Pro, Holo Mini, Holo Active — Holo AlertMedical alert pendants and watchesNoYes — 24/7 two-way voice on all three devicesYes — wrist (Holo Mini), neck or waist pendant (Holo Pro), smartwatch (Holo Active)"If you fall, your device automatically alerts our monitoring team, even if you can't press the button. Help is dispatched within minutes."Not publicly stated — "24/7 professional emergency monitoring across Canada"; the monitoring centre's location is not specifiedYes — Canadian-owned and operated, coast-to-coast cellular coverageHolo Pro $49.95/mo, Holo Mini $54.95/mo, Holo Active $59.95/mo, plus a one-time device fee ($89.97 / $119.97 / $149.97 during the advertised promotion); no contract on monthly plans. The currency is not stated on the pricing page; figures are recorded exactly as shown2026-09-06
Home Cellular System with Fall Detection — Galaxy Medical Alert SystemsMedical alert pendants and watchesNoYes — "ultra-sensitive microphone" in the console for two-way voiceYes — pendant, lanyard or wrist watch; the base console itself is not worn"Advanced Fall Detection" / "Detects falls and sends alert for help immediately" — no accuracy or limitation statement publishedNot publicly statedYes — company in Windsor, Ontario; "Our network extends across Canada and the USA"From $44.95 CAD/month for the home cellular system with fall detection; annual plans advertised as two months free2026-09-06
HomeSafe with Fall Detection — Lifeline CanadaMedical alert pendants and watchesNoYes — two-way voice through the in-home communicatorYes — "worn as a pendant with an adjustable neck cord""Our proven automatic fall detection technology is designed to automatically detect true falls, with a low rate of false alarms" — and, on the same page, "Fall Detection does not detect 100% of falls. If able, you should always press the button that you wear."Not publicly stated — response centres stated to be in CanadaYes — sold across Canada; service areas vary by postal codeNot publicly stated — monthly monitoring, price given by phone (1-866-801-1595)2026-09-06
WalledCare for Eldercare — Moneli AutomationRadar presence sensors: cover the rooms a camera can'tNoNoNo"WalledCare is not a medical device. It does not detect falls and it does not measure breathing." — walledcare.comCanadaYes — "Built & hosted in Canada"; the site states data is kept in CanadaHome $29/month (up to 2 sensors), Home Plus $50/month (up to 5 sensors, extra sensors $8/month), plus a one-time $20 per sensor; care operators from $8/sensor/month at 25+ sensors. No currency stated on the page2026-09-07

Canadian availability not confirmed

These products are listed because readers ask about them and because what exists is worth seeing. On the pages we fetched, none of these vendors states that the product is available in Canada. A Canadian address, a .ca domain or a mention of Canada is not an availability statement, so we do not treat it as one, and nothing in this group should be read as a Canadian buying option until the vendor says so.

ProductCategoryCameraMicrophoneWearableFall-detection claim (vendor's words)Hosting countryAvailable in CanadaPricing modelChecked
Ally acoustic monitoring — Ally LabsAcoustic monitoring: fewer night checks, one big privacy questionNo — no camera is mentioned on any page checkedYes — care staff "listen to audio samples"NoAlly does not claim to detect falls. It claims a reduction: "NHSE, ICB and customer research shows that care homes using Ally have slashed bedroom falls by 63%" — allycares.com home page. Checked 2026-09-06Not publicly statedNot publicly statedNot publicly stated2026-09-06
Aloe Care Essentials, Essentials Plus and Mobile Companion 2 — Aloe Care HealthMedical alert pendants and watchesNoYes — the hub is voice-activatedYes — Mobile Companion 2, worn on a belt clip or lanyard"automatic fall detection (not guaranteed to detect all falls)" — aloecare.com, checked 2026-09-06Not publicly statedNot publicly statedHardware plus monthly subscription: Essentials $199.99 + $39.99/month; Mobile Companion 2 $149.99 + $44.99/month; Essentials Plus $349.99 + $59.99/month. Currency not stated on the page2026-09-06
envoyatHome passive remote monitoringRemote-monitoring services and home-care bundles: who answers at 3 a.m.NoNoNo"We find the immobility that follows not only hard falls, but also low impact 'soft' falls that wearables can miss - and FAST, before the long lie becomes the long consequence." — envoyathome.com, checked 2026-09-06Not publicly statedNot publicly stated — the vendor states the system is sold to family caregivers of older adults "who live independently in the United States"One-time equipment fee of $399 plus $99 per month, no contract, cancel anytime; currency not stated on the page. Military and first-responder discount offered2026-09-06
Neteera contactless monitoringRadar presence sensors: cover the rooms a camera can'tNoNoNoNeteera does not claim to detect falls. Its site says the system "Detects exit, exit rate, and duration to support fall-risk awareness and broader clinical visibility." — neteera.com, checked 2026-09-06Not publicly statedNot publicly statedNot publicly stated2026-09-06
Nobi smart lampIndoor cameras with AINot publicly stated. Nobi's FAQ says "Only images that indicate a possible fall are passed on to assigned contacts"; Nobi does not name a sensor technology on any page we checkedNot publicly statedNo"Nobi captures falls within seconds of an occurrence, alerting caregivers immediately." and "To date, every fall has been detected across all Nobi lights." — nobi.life, checked 2026-09-06Not publicly stated. The privacy policy says service providers are "established within the EEA and in the United States"Not publicly statedNot publicly stated2026-09-06
Nomo Essential Care Kit — Nomo Smart CareRemote-monitoring services and home-care bundles: who answers at 3 a.m.No — "No cameras 100% privacy"Not publicly statedNo for the core kit; optional panic buttons and a medical ID bracelet are sold separately"Automatic fall detection*" and "When a fall is detected, a panic button is pressed, or no movement is detected for a set period, Nomo instantly alerts the care circle by call, text, and push notification." — nomosmartcare.com, checked 2026-09-06Not publicly statedNot publicly stated$199.99 for the Essential Care Kit plus $19.99 per month after a 30-day free trial, or $199.99 per year annually (15% saving); currency not stated on the page2026-09-06
Presence Sensor FP2 — AqaraRadar presence sensors: cover the rooms a camera can't, Radar fall detection: what these sensors catch, and what they missNoNot publicly statedNo — the page describes the product as "wearable-free""The FP2 has the capability to detect and alert you when a family member falls down" — aqara.com FP2 product page, checked 2026-09-06. The same page states: "The FP2 Presence Sensor is not a medical device, and can only be used for notification purposes"Not publicly statedNot publicly statedNot publicly stated on the product page — one-time hardware purchase, directed to third-party retail; no subscription mentioned2026-09-06
Vayyar Care — Vayyar ImagingRadar fall detection: what these sensors catch, and what they missNoNoNo"Receive immediate alerts when a resident experiences a fall, ensuring faster assistance and peace of mind." — vayyar.com/care, checked 2026-09-06Not publicly statedNot publicly statedNot publicly stated2026-09-06
VS373 fall detection sensor — MilesightRadar fall detection: what these sensors catch, and what they missNoNoNo"High Fall Detection Accuracy of Up to 99%" — milesight.com VS373 product page, checked 2026-09-06Not publicly statedNot publicly statedNot publicly stated — sold through distributors, no list price published2026-09-06
XK300 / XK300-H — Xandar KardianRadar presence sensors: cover the rooms a camera can'tNoNoNoNot publicly stated — no fall-detection claim appears on the pages we checkedNot publicly statedNot publicly stated — head office listed at 5000 Yonge St., Toronto, but no purchase or availability terms are publishedNot publicly stated2026-09-06

The two columns that carry the most weight

The "Available in Canada" column carries what the vendor states, and the two tables above group the rows on exactly that. A Canadian head office, a .ca domain or a sentence mentioning Canada is not a statement that a product is sold here, and we do not upgrade one into the other.

The other is hosting country. A device hosted outside Canada moves a household's data under another country's law, which is the reason that column exists at all.

Read it alongside the wearable column, because a worn device only helps while it is being worn, and that is not a rhetorical point. In a prospective cohort of people over 90 in Cambridge, England, 99% (141/143) of falls in which the person fell alone and could not get up involved someone who had a call alarm of some kind — and in 80% (113/141) of those falls "the person who fell alone did not use their call alarm to summon help" (Fleming & Brayne, BMJ 2008). It is one cohort of 110 people in one English city, and it is about use rather than any particular product, so read it as a reason to ask how a device will actually be lived with rather than as a verdict on pendants. Lifeline's own page makes a version of the same point: "If able, you should always press the button that you wear" (lifeline.ca, checked 2026-09-07).

The wearable column and the hosting column are the two attributes that most often decide how a device works out at home, and the two easiest to skim past in a wide table.

What a monitored plan comes to over the years

The pricing column above is the fact; this is arithmetic on it. Monitored alerts are sold as a monthly fee, sometimes with a one-time device fee, so over a few years the monthly side is almost all of the cost and plans that look close on a price page separate. The prices below are the ones already in the table above — Galaxy's from $44.95 CAD a month, Holo Alert's $49.95 / $54.95 / $59.95 a month plus a one-time device fee of $89.97 / $119.97 / $149.97, and Aloe Care's $199.99 + $39.99, $149.99 + $44.99 and $349.99 + $59.99 a month — each with the listing it was read from and the date it was read. Two of the three vendors publish no currency; that is carried through as a gap rather than resolved into dollars.

What a monitored alert costs over time

Monitored alerts are sold as a small monthly fee, sometimes with a one-time device fee. Over a few years the monthly side is almost all of the cost, and the plans separate. Pick a term to see what each published plan comes to.

1 to 10.

Over 5 years (60 months), Galaxy Medical Alert Systems Home Cellular System with Fall Detection comes to CAD 2,697.00 in monthly fees. No one-time fee is published for it, so that is the monthly side only.

JavaScript is off, so the term below is fixed at 5 years. Every published price this tool uses is listed underneath it, and the arithmetic is a one-time fee plus a monthly fee times 60 months.

Published plans over 5 years. Prices as published on each vendor’s own page on the date shown; two of the three publish no currency.
PlanOne-timePer monthTotalCurrencyChecked
Galaxy Medical Alert SystemsHome Cellular System with Fall DetectionNot published44.952,697.00*CAD
Holo AlertHolo Pro89.9749.953,086.97Not stated
Holo AlertHolo Mini119.9754.953,416.97Not stated
Holo AlertHolo Active149.9759.953,746.97Not stated
Aloe Care HealthEssentials199.9939.992,599.39Not stated
Aloe Care HealthMobile Companion 2149.9944.992,849.39Not stated
Aloe Care HealthEssentials Plus349.9959.993,949.39Not stated

WalledCare is not in this table because it is not a monitored plan: there is no response centre, and alerts go to family or on-duty staff. Our own prices are published on the WalledCare listing, held to the same sourcing rule as every other row here.

What this uses, and where each figure came from

FigureAs publishedSourceChecked
Galaxy Medical Alert Systems — Home Cellular System with Fall Detection44.95 a month; no one-time fee published Published as a “From” price. Currency is stated by the vendor (“All prices are in Canadian funds”). No one-time fee is published, and annual plans are advertised as two months free — neither is applied here.galaxymedicalalert.com — home cellular system with fall detection
Holo Alert — Holo Pro89.97 once, then 49.95 a month The pricing page states no currency; the figures are recorded exactly as shown. The device fee was advertised as a promotion.holoalert.ca — pricing
Holo Alert — Holo Mini119.97 once, then 54.95 a month The pricing page states no currency; the figures are recorded exactly as shown. The device fee was advertised as a promotion.holoalert.ca — pricing
Holo Alert — Holo Active149.97 once, then 59.95 a month The pricing page states no currency; the figures are recorded exactly as shown. The device fee was advertised as a promotion.holoalert.ca — pricing
Aloe Care Health — Essentials199.99 once, then 39.99 a month The page states no currency. A promotional $1 device offer was running when the page was read; the standing hardware price is used here.aloecare.com
Aloe Care Health — Mobile Companion 2149.99 once, then 44.99 a month The page states no currency. A promotional $1 device offer was running when the page was read; the standing hardware price is used here.aloecare.com
Aloe Care Health — Essentials Plus349.99 once, then 59.99 a month The page states no currency. A promotional $1 device offer was running when the page was read; the standing hardware price is used here.aloecare.com
Months in a year12 The only constant here that does not come from a vendor page, and the only one with no source, because it has none to have. Nothing else is added: no term discount, no tax, no activation fee, no price increase over the term — none of these vendors publishes any of those in a form that could be computed.Definition — not a published figure

Every figure this tool computes with is listed above with the page it came from and the date that page was read. Prices change; the date is the fact, not the price.

This tool does arithmetic on published prices and counts. It does not assess anyone's health, and nothing it shows is medical advice.

WalledCare is not in the calculator, because the calculator answers one question — what a monitored alert plan comes to over the years — and WalledCare is not a monitored alert service: there is no response centre and no dispatch. Its prices are published and are in the table above: $29 a month for up to two sensors, $50 a month for up to five, plus a one-time $20 per sensor, and "from $8 / sensor / month at 25+ sensors" for care operators (walledcare.com/upgrade, checked 2026-09-07). Our own page states no currency either, so the figures are recorded as shown, exactly as they are for Holo Alert and Aloe Care.

What this cannot tell you

A table is good at attributes and bad at outcomes. Nothing in these columns says a device will keep someone at home longer, and the strongest Canadian evidence we have found says the effect is unproven. A multiprovincial randomized controlled trial of passive remote monitoring in home care, across 313 client-caregiver pairs in Ontario and Nova Scotia, reported a nonsignificant 30% reduction in the risk of being unable to return home in Ontario (HR 0.7, 95% CI 0.3-1.4, P=.30) and a nonsignificant 10% increase in Nova Scotia (HR 1.1, 95% CI 0.3-3.7, P=.90). The authors' own conclusion: "our study did not yield statistically significant results ... regarding the effectiveness of the PRM model in prolonging home stays" (JMIR Aging, 2025).

We publish that because it is the honest state of the evidence, and it applies to our own product as much as to anyone else's row in the table.

We have not tested any product here, our own included. Read the column set as a way to shortlist, then judge the shortlist on who answers the alert and how quickly.

Frequently asked questions

Why is a cell in italics instead of saying no?

Because we could not confirm it. Italic Not publicly stated means the vendor's public pages, as we fetched them on the check date, do not state that attribute. We publish the gap instead of filling it. Ask the vendor directly, and tell us what they say so we can update the row with a source.

Do vendors pay to be in this table?

No. Listings are not paid, no vendor can buy a place or a position, and the order is alphabetical by product. The disclosure at the top of this page is there because we make one of the products in the category we are describing.

Are the fall-detection claims verified?

No. They are quoted verbatim from vendor material so you can compare wording, which varies far more than the underlying technology does. Where a vendor publishes accuracy or false-alarm figures, its listing links to them; where it does not, the listing says so.

Why are some products missing?

A product enters the table once we have fetched a vendor page for every attribute in the columns above. Its absence is not a judgement about it — it means we have not checked it. If a product you are considering is not here, send it to info@walledcare.com and we will check it against the same columns. Products we have checked stay in the table whether or not their Canadian availability is confirmed; the second table is where the unconfirmed ones sit.

Where WalledCare fits

WalledCare is one row in this table, published by the company that runs the table. It is a camera-free, microphone-free millimetre-wave radar sensor that reports presence, movement, prolonged stillness and prolonged inactivity, room by room, hosted in Canada. It does not detect falls, does not measure breathing, and is not a medical device — so in the fall-detection column it will always read as no such claim, which is the honest answer and not a gap in the row.

What the "no camera, nothing worn" row actually looks like in a home is one unit per room, plugged into an outlet, each reporting about its own room:

One sensor per roomPlan view of a flat with four rooms — living room, hall, bedroom and bathroom. A small plug-in unit sits low on a wall in each room, and the shaded area each unit reports on fills that room and stops at its walls. The bathroom is labelled as a room a camera cannot go in, and the bedroom as a room where there is nothing to remember to wear. Living room Hall Bedroom Bathroom One unit, plugged into an outlet Movement between the rooms Nothing to remember to wear A camera cannot go in here One plug-in unit per room The one room that unit reports on Each unit reports presence, movement, prolonged stillness and prolonged inactivity, for its own room only. No camera. No microphone. Nothing worn. It does not detect falls and it is not a medical device.
One unit per room, at an outlet. Each reports presence, movement, prolonged stillness and prolonged inactivity for its own room and no other — which is why the bathroom and the hall, the two rooms a camera is least welcome in, are covered the same way as the rest.
Text description of this diagram

Plan view of a flat with four rooms — living room, hall, bedroom and bathroom. A small plug-in unit sits low on a wall in each room, and the shaded area each unit reports on fills that room and stops at its walls. The bathroom is labelled as a room a camera cannot go in, and the bedroom as a room where there is nothing to remember to wear.

A WalledCare sensor plugged into a bedroom outlet beside a bed with a low lamp.
What the no-camera, nothing-worn row looks like in the room it is bought for: an outlet, and nothing to remember.

Sources

Published Last reviewed By Moneli Automation editorialNext review 7 March 2027