WalledCare WalledCareLearn
Directory

Remote-monitoring services and home-care bundles: who answers at 3 a.m.

A kit, an installer, alert rules and sometimes a 24/7 call centre, on one monthly bill. What you are paying for is the response, not the hardware — so ask who answers at three in the morning, and what they do next.

Published by Moneli Automation, maker of WalledCare. Listings are not paid. How we evaluate and check listings.

Families who have already tried a box of sensors know how it ends. It goes in over a weekend, it fires too often for the first month, somebody turns the notifications off, and by the spring a battery is flat and nobody has noticed.

A bundle is sold as the fix for that: an assessment, an installer, alert rules somebody else tunes, and a named party who is supposed to act when an alert fires. The hardware is rarely the interesting part of the contract.

Key facts

  • The largest Canadian test is a null result. A multiprovincial randomized controlled trial enrolled 313 client-caregiver pairs (174 in Ontario, 139 in Nova Scotia) and gave intervention homes a tailored kit — motion sensors, Wi-Fi cameras, fall-alert pendants, contact sensors, pressure mats and a medication sensor — with alerts to a family caregiver, free for 12 months. It found no statistically significant effect on admission to higher care (Ontario HR 0.7, 95% CI 0.3–1.4, P=.30; Nova Scotia HR 1.1, 95% CI 0.3–3.7, P=.90) (JMIR Aging, 2025).
  • The wider literature is thin. A Canadian-led scoping review screened 486 articles and kept 14, most using motion sensors (10) and door sensors (8); its conclusion was that "[m]ore high-quality research on this topic is needed" (Read et al., Canadian Journal on Aging, 2023).
  • Models differ on who responds. Toronto Grace Health Centre's Remote Care Monitoring program routes alerts from its devices — a pendant, a medication dispenser and medical monitoring devices — to its own 24/7 call centre (Toronto Grace Health Centre, accessed September 2026). The Canadian trial routed alerts to family instead.

Listings 2

Canadian availability is not publicly stated for any listing below; each listing says so in its own row. Every attribute carries a source URL and the date it was checked. Anything we could not confirm is shown as “Not publicly stated”, never guessed.

What is actually in a bundle

The product is an arrangement, not a box. A typical bundle includes:

  • an assessment of the home, and a kit chosen for that person;
  • professional installation;
  • a dashboard or app for the family;
  • defined alert rules, and an escalation path.

Some are sold by home-care agencies as an add-on to visits; some are stand-alone subscriptions; some are run by a hospital or a not-for-profit as a program.

What the service layer buys you is continuity: someone tunes the alert thresholds when they are wrong, someone replaces a dead battery, and someone is named as responsible when an alert fires. That last one is the part that fails in the field. A case manager in the New Brunswick study of an existing Canadian program described a client who "had Lifeline, CareLink, but the family/friend caregiver was not checking his phone or his computer so he'd get nothing" (Read et al., JMIR Aging, 2022). We have found no published figure for how long a family keeps a self-installed kit running, and we are not going to estimate one.

When paying for the service layer is worth it

Bundles fit families spread across time zones, people discharged from hospital who need a few months of closer attention, and home-care agencies adding awareness between visits. They fit anyone who would not maintain a self-installed system. They fit poorly where the household wants one specific answer — a bathroom, a bed, a door at night — which a single sensor can give more cheaply, and where nobody is willing to be the named responder.

What to ask before buying

  1. Who receives the alert, at what hours, and what happens if that person does not respond? Silence is the failure mode to design against.
  2. Is there a 24/7 call centre, is it in Canada, and does it dispatch anyone or only phone the contact list?
  3. Exactly which sensors are in the kit, and what does each one miss?
  4. Are there cameras or microphones, and can they be declined without losing the service?
  5. Where is the data hosted, in which country, and who can see it — the agency, the vendor, the family?
  6. What is the contract term, the installation fee and the cancellation policy? Who owns the hardware at the end?
  7. What is the evidence for the specific claim the salesperson made?
  8. Is there a review point — 90 days is reasonable — where alerts are retuned or the service is stopped?

Two Canadian programs to look at first

CareLink Advantage (carelinkadvantage.ca, accessed September 2026) runs the New Brunswick program the research above studied; its kit is described there as "motion detectors, bed and chair sensors, medication adherence monitors, and motion-activated video cameras" (Read et al., JMIR Aging, 2022). Toronto Grace Health Centre routes its Remote Care Monitoring alerts to its own 24/7 call centre, which is a different answer to the 3 a.m. question than routing them to family. Neither has a full listing here, because we record only what a vendor publishes on its own pages, and neither publishes every attribute this directory records. See the methodology, the side-by-side device table, the priced medical alert plans that bundles are usually built around, and passive monitoring for home-care agencies.

What it cannot do

It cannot promise the outcome families want. The Canadian trial above found no significant effect on staying home, and it did not test radar. If a vendor tells you a bundle keeps a parent out of long-term care or reduces falls, ask which study, in which population, with what control group.

It also cannot fill gaps in its own kit. A bundle of motion and contact sensors goes blind when someone sits still — a passive infrared sensor reports an occupied room as empty once movement stops — so ask what covers a person sitting quietly for hours. That distinction has its own page: radar presence versus PIR, Wi-Fi sensing and acoustic monitoring.

Camera-based bundles raise a separate problem, and the New Brunswick study is blunt about it. Its available components were "motion detectors, bed and chair sensors, medication adherence monitors, and motion-activated video cameras", and a social worker said of the last of those: "I think the idea of cameras is really scary to a lot of people...as soon as cameras are mentioned, their eyes go wide." A decision-maker in the same study said "staff perception of the cameras was heightened and I believe that was the biggest barrier to implementing it" (Read et al., JMIR Aging, 2022). If a lens is the sticking point, indoor cameras with AI and camera-free room sensors are the two sides of that choice.

Nothing in this category is a substitute for care itself, and the monthly fee is generally not claimable: the CRA lists "personal response systems such as Lifeline and Health Line Services" among common medical expenses you cannot claim (CRA Guide RC4065, 2025).

Frequently asked questions

Does a monitoring bundle keep someone out of long-term care?

The Canadian randomized trial found no statistically significant effect on admission to higher care (JMIR Aging, 2025). Buy one for awareness and peace of mind, not for a promised outcome.

Is it better than buying sensors myself?

It depends on whether anyone will maintain a self-installed kit and answer its alerts. The service layer is the part most families underestimate.

Are these services covered by provincial home care?

Sometimes, as part of a program rather than as a consumer purchase; it varies by province and by agency. Ask the local home-care coordinator what is funded before paying privately.

Where WalledCare fits

WalledCare is one component, not a bundle. It is a camera-free millimetre-wave radar presence sensor that reports presence, movement, prolonged stillness and prolonged inactivity, room by room — the case a motion-only kit handles worst, because a person sitting still stops registering. It does not detect falls, does not measure breathing, is not a medical device, and does not call emergency services.

The unit of coverage is the room, and that is worth seeing rather than reading. One unit plugs into an outlet in each room you want covered; each reports about its own room and no other, so the rooms with no coverage are the rooms with no unit in them.

One unit per roomPlan view of a flat with four rooms — living room, hall, bedroom and bathroom. A small plug-in unit sits low on a wall in each room, and the shaded area each unit reports on fills that room and stops at its walls. Living room Hall Bedroom Bathroom One unit, plugged into an outlet Movement between the rooms Nothing to remember to wear A camera cannot go in here One plug-in unit per room The one room that unit reports on Each unit reports presence, movement, prolonged stillness and prolonged inactivity, for its own room only. No camera. No microphone. Nothing worn. It does not detect falls and it is not a medical device.
One unit per room, at an outlet. Each reports about its own room and no other — so coverage is a decision about which rooms get a unit, not a promise about the whole house.
Text description of this diagram

Plan view of a flat with four rooms — living room, hall, bedroom and bathroom. A small plug-in unit sits low on a wall in each room, and the shaded area each unit reports on fills that room and stops at its walls.

There is no service layer in that picture, and that is the honest gap. Nobody tunes the thresholds for you, nobody replaces a battery — there is no battery — and nobody answers at three in the morning unless you have named them. Written into a care plan, it is an awareness tool with a named responder and a review date, and it belongs beside the pendant or check-in that can raise a deliberate call for help. See how WalledCare works.

Sources

  1. Passive Remote Monitoring Technologies' Influence on Home Care Clients' Ability to Stay Home: Multiprovincial Randomized Controlled Trial (JMIR Aging, 2025). https://aging.jmir.org/2025/1/e69107
  2. Passive Remote Monitoring and Aging in Place: A Scoping Review (Read et al., Canadian Journal on Aging, 2023). https://www.cambridge.org/core/journals/canadian-journal-on-aging-la-revue-canadienne-du-vieillissement/article/passive-remote-monitoring-and-aging-in-place-a-scoping-review/8861B7C15F470453DB1AECF38D91E3C7
  3. Stakeholder perspectives on a passive remote monitoring program in New Brunswick (JMIR Aging, via PMC, 2022). https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9133995/
  4. Remote Care Monitoring (Toronto Grace Health Centre, accessed September 2026). https://www.torontograce.org/remote-care-monitoring-rcm/
  5. CareLink Advantage (vendor, accessed September 2026). https://carelinkadvantage.ca/
  6. Guide RC4065, Medical Expenses (Canada Revenue Agency, 2025). https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/forms-publications/publications/rc4065/medical-expenses.html
Published Last reviewed By Moneli Automation editorialNext review 6 March 2027