WalledCare WalledCareLearn
Comparisons

Senior monitoring devices in Canada, compared (2026)

There is no single best senior monitoring device. A pendant calls for help, but only if it is worn and pressed; a room sensor notices when someone stops moving, but does not detect falls; a camera shows the most and shares the most. Match the device to the person, the room and the risk.

Published by Moneli Automation, maker of WalledCare. Listings are not paid. How we evaluate and check listings.

Every device below answers a different question, and the expensive mistake is buying one that answers a question you did not have. Prices here were read from the vendors' own pages in September 2026, each with its date, so you can check whether they still hold.

Key facts

Why does the choice matter?

In 2022 there were 78,076 fall-related hospitalizations among Canadians 65+ outside Quebec; 34% involved a hip fracture (Health Infobase, 2022). The 2021 Census counted more than 861,000 Canadians aged 85 and older, more than twice the 2001 count (Statistics Canada, 2021).

A monitoring device does not stop a fall. It only shortens the time between something going wrong and someone knowing. Each type has blind spots.

What kinds of senior monitoring devices are sold in Canada?

Medical alert pendants and watches (PERS)

A button on a pendant or wristband connected to a 24/7 response centre. Fall detection is usually an add-on. Canadian providers include Lifeline, TELUS Health, Galaxy, Life Assure, Bedford, Holo Alert and Senior Protection. Every listing we have checked is in the medical alert pendants and watches category.

Pros: a live person answers, day or night. Cons: it only works if worn and pressed. Galaxy, Bedford and Lifeline all say fall detection is not perfect.

Passive room sensors: motion, door, bed and radar presence

Sensors that report movement, door openings, time in bed, or presence. Some come as kits with an app. Shipping a box to Canada is not the same as being supported here: Nomo's shipping policy says "Nomo products ship to customers around the world" (Nomo shipping policy, checked 2026-09-07), but its product page says the kit is "currently available for use in the United States only" (Nomo Smart Care, 2026), and envoyatHome describes service "across the United States" with no Canadian terms stated. Check each kit's own page before buying. Others are DIY smart-home parts, such as the Aqara FP2 millimetre-wave sensor sold on Amazon.ca (Amazon.ca listing, 2026). WalledCare, our own product, sits in this group. The checked listings are in the radar presence sensors category, and the products that claim to detect a fall from a room sensor are separated out into radar fall-detection sensors.

Pros: nothing to wear or press. No video. Cons: they do not detect falls. They report a different thing: a change in routine, such as no movement for a set time. Someone still has to act on that alert.

Indoor cameras and AI video

Wi-Fi cameras with an app, sometimes with software that flags a person on the floor. See the indoor cameras with AI category.

Pros: you can see what is happening. Cons: the biggest privacy trade-off. Many vendors store video in their own cloud; check where the servers are. Few older adults want a camera in a bedroom or bathroom, where many falls happen.

Daily check-in apps and calls

The person confirms they are okay each day by tapping an app or answering a call. Apps such as I'm Alive message a contact if the person goes silent. See the daily check-in apps category.

Pros: free or very cheap. Cons: depends on the person remembering and being able to respond.

GPS and wandering devices

GPS watches or pendants for people with dementia who may leave home. See the GPS locators category.

Pros: the only category that helps outside the home. Cons: must be worn and charged. Bedford says its mobile unit runs "Up To 3 Days Battery with Fall Detection" versus "up to 45 Days Battery without Fall Detection" (Bedford Medical Alert, 2026).

Care-home systems

Sold to operators, not families. Nobi's smart lamp claims "0 % Falls Missed*" and "To date, every fall has been detected across all Nobi lights", with its own footnote "*Past performance does not guarantee future results." (Nobi, 2026). Xandar Kardian sells a radar sensor for heart and breathing rate and calls it the "first commercially available medical device cleared by the FDA to do so" (Xandar Kardian, 2026). These are vendor claims. Neither page lists Canadian consumer availability or a Health Canada licence.

How do the device types compare?

TypeWhat it noticesWhat it missesWorn?Camera or mic?Where data goesTypical priceCanada availability
Medical alert pendantButton press; optional fall detectionFalls when not worn or not pressed; some slow or seated fallsYesMic and speaker on base unitVendor's response centre$34.95 to $59.95 a month across the plans we could price, fall detection often extra, plus a one-time device fee at some vendors; only Galaxy states a currencyWide: Lifeline, TELUS, Galaxy, Life Assure, Bedford, Holo Alert, Senior Protection
Passive room sensors (incl. radar presence)Movement, presence, prolonged stillness, prolonged inactivity, doors, bedFalls themselves; what happened; anything outside the homeNoNoVendor cloud or local hubDIY sensors: one-time; kits: subscriptionMixed: DIY sensors widely sold on Amazon.ca; shipping to Canada is not the same as being supported here — Nomo says its kit is "currently available for use in the United States only" and envoyatHome describes service "across the United States"; check each kit's own page before buying
Indoor camera / AI videoEverything in viewRooms without a camera; privacyNoYes, bothUsually vendor cloud; ask whereAbout CAD $50 to CAD $170 one-time, plus optional cloud fees (Wyze Cam v4 $49.99 CAD list on ca.wyze.com; eufy Indoor Cam S350 CA$169.99 on eufy.com/ca, read September 2026)Wide
Check-in app or callA missed daily responseAnything between check-ins; why someone missedNo (phone)NoApp vendorFree tier; paid tiers US$29.99–US$39.99/yr (I'm Alive, 2026; the site prices in USD)Yes for most apps
GPS wandering deviceLocation outside the homeAnything indoors unless combined with PERSYesVariesVendor cloudFrom CAD $49.95/mo with fall detection (Galaxy)Yes
Care-home radar / acoustic / smart lampFalls, vital signs, noise (as claimed)Sold to operators onlyNoSome use micsOperator's systemNot publishedNot stated for consumers

Prices read September 2026 from the Galaxy, Life Assure and TELUS Health published pages; Galaxy's page dates its own figures to July 2026. Lifeline, Senior Protection and Bedford do not publish prices online; call for pricing.

What does each device miss?

Pendants: not worn, not pressed, false alarms

A pendant on the nightstand cannot call for help. In a 2008 UK study of 110 people aged over 90, the alarm was not used in 80% of falls where the person was alone and could not get up (113 of 141 falls). In community settings the figure was 78% (28 of 36 falls). In 97% of long lies with an alarm available, it was not used (Fleming & Brayne, BMJ, 2008).

A 2026 US survey by an affiliate site (not peer-reviewed, 909 respondents aged 65+) found only 18% of users wear their device at all times, and nearly half have had a false alarm (TheSeniorList, 2026). There is no Canadian equivalent.

Vendors are clear about fall detection's limits. Galaxy: "Fall detection features are an added layer of protection and are not guaranteed to detect every fall." (Galaxy Medical Alert, 2026). Bedford: "Fall Detection technology does not detect falls with perfect accuracy." (Bedford Medical Alert, 2026). Lifeline: "If able, you should always press the button that you wear." (Lifeline Canada, 2026).

Room sensors: no fall detection, and a routine to compare against

A motion or presence sensor does not know a fall happened. It knows that a room normally busy at 8 a.m. is quiet, or that someone has been still for longer than usual. That is a different signal from a pressed button, not the same signal on a delay. It needs a normal routine to compare against. DIY parts come with no monitoring service: the Amazon.ca listing markets the Aqara FP2 as "Multi-Person & Fall Detection", but Aqara sells no response centre with it and the listing shows no Health Canada medical device licence (Amazon.ca, 2026).

A camera answers "what happened?" better than any other device. The cost is that someone is being watched. Ask who can view the feed and where it is stored. A 2022 scoping review by Canadian researchers, covering 14 mostly non-Canadian studies (8 from the United States), reported that participants were more likely to accept monitoring systems seen as protecting privacy by not including video (Canadian Journal on Aging, 2022).

Check-in apps: they depend on the person

If the person forgets, is confused, or cannot reach the phone, the app cannot tell a fall from a quiet morning. Best as a backstop for someone still fully independent.

What does the Canadian evidence say?

Less than you might hope. The Canadian trial above used motion sensors, Wi-Fi cameras, fall pendants, contact sensors and pressure mats across Ontario and Nova Scotia. The hazard ratio for admission to higher levels of care was 0.7 in Ontario and 1.1 in Nova Scotia; a ratio below 1 means fewer admissions, but neither result was significant (P=.30 and P=.90) (Donelle et al., JMIR Aging, 2025). The authors called the trends encouraging. It is still a null result.

The 2022 scoping review in the Canadian Journal on Aging is Canadian-authored, but no Canadian study was among the 14 it covered. Most were observational, with only one small pilot trial and no cost analysis of any system. It concluded: "More high-quality research on this topic is needed."

The case for these devices rests on plain logic, vendor claims and family experience, not Canadian trial data.

What do senior monitoring devices cost in Canada?

Published CAD prices, read September 2026:

  • Galaxy Medical Alert: Home Cellular $34.95/month; with fall detection $44.95/month; mobile GPS with fall detection from $49.95/month, equipment included (Galaxy, 2026; the page dates its figures to July 2026).
  • Life Assure: Classic Home from $34.95/month; Premium Mobile Plus from $54.95/month; fall detection is an "Optional Upgrade" on both (Life Assure, 2026).
  • TELUS Health: LivingWell Companion Home "Starting from $35 /mo." and the TELUS Health Medical Alert Pendant "Starting from $55 /mo.", both "for existing TELUS Home, Mobility or Koodo customers on a 1-year term". A $35 activation fee applies and cancellation fees may apply for early termination (TELUS Health, 2026).
  • Lifeline Canada: no prices online; call for a quote (Lifeline, 2026).
  • eufy Indoor Cam S350: CA$169.99 one-time (eufy Canada, 2026).
  • Wyze Cam v4: $49.99 CAD list, on sale at $38.98 CAD when read (Wyze Canada, 2026).
  • Senior Protection, Bedford: call for pricing. Senior Protection notes "cancellation fees may apply" (Senior Protection, 2026).

"No monthly fee" devices have no fee because there is no response centre; the alert goes to your phone. The Canada Revenue Agency lists "personal response systems such as Lifeline" among medical expenses you cannot claim (RC4065 Medical Expenses, CRA, 2025). A monitoring subscription is unlikely to earn a tax credit.

What does a monitored plan come to over five years?

A monthly figure is the wrong unit for this decision. Monitoring is bought for years, and the vendors split the cost differently: one charges more per month and gives you the equipment, another charges less per month and asks for the hardware up front. Over five years those swap places.

Three vendors in our directory publish a complete price — a monthly fee, and a one-time fee where there is one. Between them that is seven plans:

  • Galaxy Medical Alert, Home Cellular with fall detection: $44.95 CAD a month, equipment included, with no separate device fee published. Galaxy is the only one of the three that states a currency (Galaxy, the page dates its own figures to July 2026; our listing).
  • Holo Alert: Holo Pro "$49.95/mo" plus a one-time device fee of "$89.97", Holo Mini "$54.95/mo" plus "$119.97", Holo Active "$59.95/mo" plus "$149.97". The device fees are advertised promotional prices, against was-prices of $299.9, $399.9 and $499.9. The pricing page states no currency anywhere, and Canadian ownership is not a currency statement, so we record the figures as shown (Holo Alert pricing, checked 7 September 2026; our listing).
  • Aloe Care Health: Essentials $199.99 hardware plus $39.99/month; Mobile Companion 2 $149.99 plus $44.99/month; Essentials Plus $349.99 plus $59.99/month. The page states no currency and says nothing about Canadian availability, so this is a US-facing price until the vendor publishes otherwise (aloecare.com, checked 7 September 2026; our listing).

The calculator below does the arithmetic on those seven published plans — one-time fee, plus the monthly fee multiplied by the months — and nothing else. It does not rank them, it does not know which is right for a household, and it fills no gap: where a vendor does not publish a figure, the row says so rather than assuming a zero.

What a monitored alert costs over time

Monitored alerts are sold as a small monthly fee, sometimes with a one-time device fee. Over a few years the monthly side is almost all of the cost, and the plans separate. Pick a term to see what each published plan comes to.

1 to 10.

Over 5 years (60 months), Galaxy Medical Alert Systems Home Cellular System with Fall Detection comes to CAD 2,697.00 in monthly fees. No one-time fee is published for it, so that is the monthly side only.

JavaScript is off, so the term below is fixed at 5 years. Every published price this tool uses is listed underneath it, and the arithmetic is a one-time fee plus a monthly fee times 60 months.

Published plans over 5 years. Prices as published on each vendor’s own page on the date shown; two of the three publish no currency.
PlanOne-timePer monthTotalCurrencyChecked
Galaxy Medical Alert SystemsHome Cellular System with Fall DetectionNot published44.952,697.00*CAD
Holo AlertHolo Pro89.9749.953,086.97Not stated
Holo AlertHolo Mini119.9754.953,416.97Not stated
Holo AlertHolo Active149.9759.953,746.97Not stated
Aloe Care HealthEssentials199.9939.992,599.39Not stated
Aloe Care HealthMobile Companion 2149.9944.992,849.39Not stated
Aloe Care HealthEssentials Plus349.9959.993,949.39Not stated

WalledCare is not in this table because it is not a monitored plan: there is no response centre, and alerts go to family or on-duty staff. Our own prices are published on the WalledCare listing, held to the same sourcing rule as every other row here.

What this uses, and where each figure came from

FigureAs publishedSourceChecked
Galaxy Medical Alert Systems — Home Cellular System with Fall Detection44.95 a month; no one-time fee published Published as a “From” price. Currency is stated by the vendor (“All prices are in Canadian funds”). No one-time fee is published, and annual plans are advertised as two months free — neither is applied here.galaxymedicalalert.com — home cellular system with fall detection
Holo Alert — Holo Pro89.97 once, then 49.95 a month The pricing page states no currency; the figures are recorded exactly as shown. The device fee was advertised as a promotion.holoalert.ca — pricing
Holo Alert — Holo Mini119.97 once, then 54.95 a month The pricing page states no currency; the figures are recorded exactly as shown. The device fee was advertised as a promotion.holoalert.ca — pricing
Holo Alert — Holo Active149.97 once, then 59.95 a month The pricing page states no currency; the figures are recorded exactly as shown. The device fee was advertised as a promotion.holoalert.ca — pricing
Aloe Care Health — Essentials199.99 once, then 39.99 a month The page states no currency. A promotional $1 device offer was running when the page was read; the standing hardware price is used here.aloecare.com
Aloe Care Health — Mobile Companion 2149.99 once, then 44.99 a month The page states no currency. A promotional $1 device offer was running when the page was read; the standing hardware price is used here.aloecare.com
Aloe Care Health — Essentials Plus349.99 once, then 59.99 a month The page states no currency. A promotional $1 device offer was running when the page was read; the standing hardware price is used here.aloecare.com
Months in a year12 The only constant here that does not come from a vendor page, and the only one with no source, because it has none to have. Nothing else is added: no term discount, no tax, no activation fee, no price increase over the term — none of these vendors publishes any of those in a form that could be computed.Definition — not a published figure

Every figure this tool computes with is listed above with the page it came from and the date that page was read. Prices change; the date is the fact, not the price.

This tool does arithmetic on published prices and counts. It does not assess anyone's health, and nothing it shows is medical advice.

Two things fall out of it that a monthly price hides. The first is that the cheapest headline is not always the cheapest plan: within Aloe Care's own range, Mobile Companion 2 ($149.99 up front, $44.99 a month) is cheaper than Essentials ($199.99 up front, $39.99 a month) for the first ten months, and the two are exactly level at month ten — $599.89 either way — after which Essentials pulls ahead. That crossover sits below the shortest term the calculator will take: set it to one year and Essentials is already ahead by $10.00, and at five years the gap is $250.00. The second is that Lifeline, Senior Protection and Bedford cannot appear in the table at all, because they publish no price. That is worth knowing before you call for a quote.

Comparing across the three vendors is a different matter and we would not do it from these numbers alone. Only Galaxy states a currency, so a Holo Alert total and an Aloe Care total are not known to be in the same dollars, and Aloe Care states no Canadian availability at all. The calculator carries that through as "Not stated" rather than resolving it, and so should you.

For the room sensors, cameras and check-in apps in the table above, most of the cost is one-time hardware with no response centre behind it, so there is no equivalent five-year subscription to model. The full attribute-by-attribute table for every product we have checked is in the directory comparison.

Privacy and the law, in plain English

This is general information, not legal advice.

Canada's federal privacy law, PIPEDA, applies to organizations collecting personal information in the course of commercial activity. It does not apply to "an individual's collection, use or disclosure of personal information strictly for personal purposes" (Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada, 2024). In practice: a family installing a sensor for a parent is not covered. The vendor that stores the data is covered by PIPEDA, or by a similar provincial law in Quebec, British Columbia and Alberta.

Two practical points. Ask the person being monitored, and keep asking; consent is about dignity as much as law. Ask the vendor where data is hosted. A camera in a retirement or long-term care home falls under provincial rules; check with the operator first.

Under the Food and Drugs Act, a "device" is something "manufactured, sold or represented for use in" diagnosing, treating, mitigating or preventing a disease or abnormal physical state (Food and Drugs Act, s. 2, current to 2026). What counts is how a product is marketed. Most consumer monitoring devices, including WalledCare, are not medical devices.

How do I choose? Five questions

  1. Will they wear it? Will they press it? If yes to both, a pendant with a response centre is the longest-established option. If either is no, a pendant alone will fail when it matters.
  2. Where do falls and long lies happen in this home? Bathrooms, bedrooms and the path between them at night. Cameras rarely belong there.
  3. Does anyone need to see video, or only know something is wrong? Most families only need to know the day is not going as usual. A presence or motion sensor answers that without video.
  4. Who gets the alert, and what do they do at 3 a.m.? A response centre answers every time. A phone alert to a family member needs a plan: who calls, who has a key, who dials 911.
  5. Where is the data stored, and who can cancel? Ask about hosting country, contract length and cancellation fees before signing.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best monitoring device for elderly parents in Canada?

There is no single best one. For a parent who will wear and press a pendant, a PERS with a Canadian response centre is the longest-established choice. For a parent who will not, consider a passive room sensor. Many families combine two.

Do medical alert systems really detect falls?

Sometimes. Fall detection is an add-on, and Galaxy, Bedford and Lifeline all say it is not guaranteed. Lifeline states it "does not detect 100% of falls" (Lifeline Canada, 2026). False alarms are common.

How much does a medical alert system cost in Canada per month?

The published plans we could price run from $34.95 to $59.95 a month, and some also charge a one-time device fee. Galaxy's home cellular system is $34.95 CAD, or $44.95 CAD with fall detection; Life Assure starts at $34.95; TELUS Health starts at $35 and $55 plus a $35 activation fee; Holo Alert runs $49.95 to $59.95 plus a device fee of $89.97 to $149.97. Only Galaxy states that its figures are in Canadian dollars. Lifeline, Senior Protection and Bedford publish no price and quote on request. The five-year totals are above.

Is it legal to monitor an elderly parent in Canada?

Generally yes in their own home, with their consent. See the privacy section above. General information, not legal advice.

Where WalledCare fits

WalledCare is a camera-free millimetre-wave radar presence sensor. It reports presence, movement, prolonged stillness and prolonged inactivity, room by room, with no camera, microphone or wearable. It fits the parent who will not wear a pendant, the bathroom or bedroom where nobody wants a camera, and the family asking "is Mom moving around as usual?"

Read against the five questions above, its answers are specific. There is nothing to wear, so there is nothing to charge, fasten or remember — the same thing the 18% all-the-time wear figure above is measuring, approached from the other end. That is a design difference, not a demonstrated outcome: no study has compared the two. It is one plug-in unit per room, so the bathroom and the bedroom can be covered without a lens in either. Alerts are written as sentences and go to whoever is on the list, and Moneli Automation states the service is built and hosted in Canada. Every one of those attributes is recorded, sourced and dated in our WalledCare listing on the same terms as every competitor above — including the two we come off worst on: we publish no price, and there is no response centre.

It does not detect falls. It does not measure breathing or heart rate. It is not a medical device or an emergency response service. An inactivity alert is a different signal from a pressed button, and a person still has to act on it — at 3 a.m., that person is you, not an operator. It sits alongside a pendant rather than replacing one. See how WalledCare works.

This article is general information about monitoring technology, not medical advice. Talk to a doctor or nurse about fall risk. In an emergency, call 911.

Sources

  1. Falls among older adults in Canada – Health Infobase, Public Health Agency of Canada. https://health-infobase.canada.ca/falls-in-older-adults/
  2. The Daily — Home alone: More persons living solo than ever before (2021 Census) – Statistics Canada. https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/daily-quotidien/220713/dq220713a-eng.htm
  3. A portrait of Canada's growing population aged 85 and older from the 2021 Census – Statistics Canada. https://www12.statcan.gc.ca/census-recensement/2021/as-sa/98-200-x/2021004/98-200-x2021004-eng.cfm
  4. The Daily — Canada's population estimates: Age and gender, July 1, 2025 – Statistics Canada. https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/daily-quotidien/250924/dq250924a-eng.htm
  5. Donelle et al. Passive Remote Monitoring Technologies' Influence on Home Care Clients' Ability to Stay Home: Multiprovincial Randomized Controlled Trial – JMIR Aging, 2025. https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11966072/
  6. Passive Remote Monitoring and Aging in Place: A Scoping Review – Canadian Journal on Aging, 2022. https://www.cambridge.org/core/journals/canadian-journal-on-aging-la-revue-canadienne-du-vieillissement/article/passive-remote-monitoring-and-aging-in-place-a-scoping-review/8861B7C15F470453DB1AECF38D91E3C7
  7. Fleming & Brayne. Inability to get up after falling, subsequent time on floor, and summoning help: prospective cohort study in people over 90 – BMJ, 2008. https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC2590903/
  8. 2026 Medical Alert Device Usage Report – TheSeniorList (US survey). https://www.theseniorlist.com/research/medical-alert-device-consumer-usage-study/
  9. HomeSafe with Fall Detection – Lifeline Canada. https://www.lifeline.ca/en/products/homesafe-with-fall-detection/
  10. Medical Alert System Cost in Canada: 2026 Pricing Guide – Galaxy Medical Alert Systems. https://www.galaxymedicalalert.com/medical-alert-system-cost-canada/
  11. Life Assure Canada. https://www.lifeassure.com/
  12. TELUS Health Medical Alert Systems for seniors in Canada (LivingWell Companion) – TELUS Health. https://www.telus.com/en/health/personal/livingwell-companion
  13. Senior Monitoring Services Canada – Bedford Medical Alert. https://bedfordmedicalalert.ca/our-services-senior-monitoring-services-canada/
  14. Senior Protection. https://seniorprotection.ca/
  15. Nobi Smart Lamp. https://www.nobi.life/en
  16. Xandar Kardian XK300. https://xkcorp.com/products/health-care/xk-300/
  17. Aqara Presence Sensor FP2 – Amazon.ca. https://www.amazon.ca/Aqara-Presence-Sensor-mmWave-Motion/dp/B0BXWZMQJ3
  18. I'm Alive daily check-in app. https://imalive.co/
  19. RC4065 Medical Expenses – Canada Revenue Agency. https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/forms-publications/publications/rc4065/medical-expenses.html
  20. Food and Drugs Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. F-27, s. 2 (definition of "device") – Justice Laws. https://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/f-27/page-1.html
  21. Essential Care Kit – Nomo Smart Care. https://nomosmartcare.com/products/essential-care-kit
  22. Indoor Cam S350 – eufy Canada (anker.com/ca). https://www.anker.com/ca/products/t8416121
  23. Wyze Cam v4 – Wyze Canada. https://ca.wyze.com
  24. PIPEDA requirements in brief – Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada. https://www.priv.gc.ca/en/privacy-topics/privacy-laws-in-canada/the-personal-information-protection-and-electronic-documents-act-pipeda/pipeda_brief/
  25. Holo Alert pricing page (plan prices and one-time device fees; no currency stated), checked 7 September 2026. https://holoalert.ca/pricing/
  26. Aloe Care Health (hardware and monthly prices; no currency and no Canadian availability stated), checked 7 September 2026. https://www.aloecare.com/
Published Last reviewed By Moneli Automation editorialNext review 5 March 2027